NASCAR Ranking: Top 10 greatest NASCAR drivers of all time


A number of things around are up for debate. Others, like the 10 greatest NASCAR drivers ever, tend to be apparent. Petty, Earnhardt, Gordon, Johnson &mdash NASCAR has numerous legendary drivers from many eras. But who’s actually the greatest? ranks the ten best drivers ever.

10. Bill Elliott

Phone him what you look for – “Awesome Bill from Dawsonville.” “Big Bill,” “Mr. Popular” – he is just a legend. The Georgia native has acquired a amazing 44 wins and contains 55 rods to his Cup record and won the 1988 championship. Also, he was the initial driver in NASCAR history to win “The Winston Million” – for the checkered flag inside the sports three exclusive races (The Daytona 500, The Winston 500 at Talladega as well as the Southern 500 at Darlington). He am well-loved through the fans he “outdatedInch within the National Motorsports Press Association’s Most Broadly Used Driver contest after winning it 16 occasions.

9. Tim Flock

Flock, part of a famous racing family, won two NASCAR Cup game game titles throughout his career – in 1952 and 55. A nearby of Fort Payne, Ala., he played from 1949-61, making 187 career starts. He won 39 races because stretch for just about any winning quantity of 20.86 percent, the second best all-time. Also, he acquired 37 career pole positions. Flock also won NASCAR’s only sports-vehicle race, in 1955. Flock ranks 18th on NASCAR’s all-time wins list.

8. Tony Stewart

The Indiana-native is really a pressure to check out throughout his NASCAR Sprint Cup career. Stewart is able to do striking quickly and moving off numerous wins anytime. He’s a 3-time champion, winning game game titles in 2002, 2005 and 2011, winning his latest becoming an owner/driver along with his Stewart-Haas Racing team. Stewart features a worst career finish of eleventh inside the standings in 12 seasons of Cup competition. He’s 44 wins additionally to 266 top-10 finishes, 162 of those top fives. He’s 13 pole positions to his credit. Stewart has won one or more race in every single season he’s played within the Cup level.

7. Bobby Allison

A charter part of the “Alabama Gang,” Allison checked off all of the accomplishments drivers desire before his untimely retirement due to injuries in 1988. He Acquired 84 career victories (tied for fourth all-time with Darrell Waltrip) in 718 starts, 58 career pole positions, won the 1983 NASCAR Cup championship, acquired three Daytona 500 wins, two NASCAR Modified Division championship in 1964 and ’65 and won two NASCAR Modified Special Division game game titles in 1962-63. He was inducted in NASCAR’s Hall of Fame this season.

6. Darrell Waltrip

Known to as Jaws for his outspokenness, the Hall of Famer certainly supported. Within the illustrious career, DW acquired three NASCAR Cup game titles (1982, ’82, ’85), 84 career victories (tied for fourth all-time with Bobby Allison), 59 pole positions (fifth all-time), and is constantly retain the record for a lot of wins at Bristol Motor Speedway with 12 wins (together with a legendary seven from 1981-1984). Outdoors the automobile, he will be a effective team owner, winning in many three major NASCAR national series before beginning around the television career.

5. Cale Yarborough

Before there’s Jimmie Johnson, there’s Cale Yarborough. NASCAR’s original empire, Yarborough won three-straight game titles from 1976-78. The Hall-of-Famer also won 83 NASCAR Cup races (including 28 throughout his championship run), won 68 pole positions throughout his career and was series runner-in 1973, ’74 and ’80.

4. Jimmie Manley

For individuals intent and reasons, Jimmie Johnson will be a complete unknown when Ron Hendrick and Rob Gordon needed a try on him in 2001. JJ’s sole highlight reel composed of climbing from the destroyed vehicle that shot nose first in to a tire barrier. However, nine seasons later, NASCAR had its first five-time consecutive championship. If Johnson’s game game titles weren’t amazing enough, his capacity to complete all people first nine seasons among the 5 best inside the point standings, resulting in becoming really the only driver to become qualified for any every Chase for your Sprint Cup, simply highlights his legend. Oh, also bear in mind his 55 career wins and 25 rods thus far.

3. David Pearson

Pearson was one of the better drivers to ever wheel a normal vehicle, as his impressive statistics and induction into NASCAR’s Hall of Fame show. He sits second on NASCAR’s all-time wins list with 105 victories and acquired a trio of Cup game game titles despite running within complete schedule throughout his career. Pearson won his game game titles in 1966, ’68 and ’69. Also, he snared 113 pole positions within the career, also second only to Richard Petty. In one of his top career runs he won 27 races and take care of since the race runner-up 30 occasions in the stretch that spanned 1968-69.

2. Dale Earnhardt

There’s only one Intimidator. And sadly, Dale Earnhardt was acquired from the overall game he loved too early. Certainly, there has been people that thought Earnhardt was going to win that eighth championship in 2001. Still, his body at work – seven game game titles and 76 Cup wins — would easily qualify him for nearly any hall of fame. Earnhardt also collected 21 Busch Series (now Country wide Series) wins in just 136 starts. Becoming an owner, Dale Earnhardt Corporation. provided equipment for four NNS game titles and a pair of truck game game titles.

1. Richard Petty

There’s grounds why to this day, Petty is simply known to as King in and outdoors of NASCAR circles. He’s seven Cup game titles (tied for a lot of all-time), 200 Cup wins (almost all-time), 123 Cup rods (almost all-time), 27 wins in one season (1967, almost all-time), 1,027 career starts (almost all-time) 10 consecutive wins (1967, almost all-time), seven-time Daytona 500 champion (almost all-time).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>